Thrifty Thursday


Had some more fun thrift shopping lately.  We hit up my favorite spot – the Rosthern Mennonite Clothes Basket.  As always the prices were awesome, and there was lots of crafty goodness for me.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

Latchhook yarn for not a terrible price. 10 cents for the individual packets, and the bags ranged from 75 cents to $1.50.  Now I just need canvas!  I want to do a geometric design and I want it to be kinda random-ish.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom DesignsI’m a sucker for thread – especially egg blue shades!  Fairly in expensive at under $2 per bag.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom DesignsI have to make some covered button pins.  I see them all the time in CrossStitcher.  Bear/dog eyes and noses at 50 cents a bag, a vintage pompom maker tool still in package, and quilt batting in small sizes. Great for experimenting with.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsA bag of ties for 75 cents!! I am going to make that skirt soon!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A great collection of macrame booklets! At 10 cents each I couldn’t go wrong – unless I got doubles.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom DesignsOn to housewares!  My big ticket item was the Pyrex gravy boat and saucer at $3.  The Pyrex mug was $1 (other mugs are 25-50 cents).  The two cute teacups are 50 cents for the pair.  They are supposed to have plates, but those probably got broke or separated.  The grapefruit spoons are $1 each, wiggle slices $1, Tupperware separate covered plates are 75 each, and the little plaster plaque was $1.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI’m always on the lookout for these spice racks.  I have up in my kitchen to hold cute things, one in the bathroom for nail polish, and a couple more looking for a home.  I’ll probably put this one up in the kitchen too.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom DesignsI also got thrifty on Kijiji and bought all this cloth for $5.  I am planning to crochet straps and granny squares and make little trapeze tops.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI also found a garage sale with a ton of older ladies selling stuff…. and this was the ONLY crafty thing they had.  Misc sock yarn for $1.  No Pyrex or anything else awesome but a stepstool and a box of jars.  I also got 4 boxes of canning jars at another garage sale for $5.  $5!!!!!  I am set!

What thrifty scores have you had lately??

This entry was posted in Thrifty Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

