Saskatchewan Berries


I live on a quarter section, 160 acres, in north-central Saskatchewan, and there is some great wild berries to be found!

This post has quite a few photos, but hopefully they will help you know what you are looking for and finding.

small wild, wet, shady woods beside the house

small wild, wet, shady woods beside the house

We have this patch of woods beside and behind the house that has the lagoon (receives our grey water) bordering it.  It’s shady thanks to the maple and birch trees.  It has lots and lots of neat underbrush that I enjoy exploring.  Lets take a look at what I found there.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

Do you see what I see?

high bush cranberries

highbush cranberries

Highbush Cranberries!  Elderberries!! There are 4 bushes of them! I don’t think they’re ripe yet, but soon!

squirrel picnic

squirrel picnic

Sparkle & Doom  DesignsDo you see what I see?

Fairy Bells!

Fairy Bells!

Unripe Fairy Bells!! This was the only patch I saw…. hopefully I can find more. 🙂

Sparkle & Doom DesignsDo you see what I see?

red currants!

red currants!

These were hard to see, and I had to get really low on the ground as the plants were less than a foot off the ground.  The patch of red currants was only about 15’x10′ and they were perfectly ripe.  This is all I could find.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

pony visit!

pony visit!

Sparkle & Doom Designs

False Solomon's Seal

False Solomon’s Seal

Looking forward to collecting these interesting berries.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsSaskatoons are amazing this year.  Berries as big as my thumbnail!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsDo you see what I see?

Red Bane Berries

Red Bane Berries

They look delicious, but they are very VERY poisonous!  I’m going to pull out all the plants near my house just so I can have peace of mind that a child won’t eat it when visiting the farm.

Bane Berry leaf

Bane Berry leaf

Sparkle & Doom Designs

Do you see what I see?

Sparkle & Doom DesignsYup, Bane Berries come in white. 😦 Again, very poisonous!

bird nest with babies being fed!

bird nest with babies being fed!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsDoom came with me to forage. 🙂

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

