Thrifty Thursday


We went thrift shopping today and Salvation Army and Value Village.  Lots of scores were found and some impulse purchases.

the total score! {minus the two biscuit tins}

the total score! {minus the two biscuit tins}

3 complete nesting dolls for 75 cents.... half of one for free?

3 complete nesting dolls for 75 cents…. half of one for free?

For my collection!

some great canning jars - a giant one and a large super wide mouth one, plus snapseal jars

some great canning jars – a giant one and a large super wide mouth one, plus snapseal jars

Canning season is almost upon me!

my new favorite snapseal jar. It has raised fruit designs and a spot for a label. So beautiful. Only 75 cents.  The other plain snapseal jar came for Value Village and was $1.99 HUGE price different. Gotta remember to shop at Salvation Army before VV.

my new favorite snapseal jar. It has raised fruit designs and a spot for a label. So beautiful. Only 75 cents. The other plain snapseal jar came for Value Village and was $1.99 HUGE price different. Gotta remember to shop at Salvation Army before VV.

I love this mini bean jar.  I think I will put some brown sugar in it.  Perhaps my autistic, sugar-junkie son won't find it! lol Who am I kidding - he'll think it's neat and open it up to see what's in it. lol

I love this mini bean jar. I think I will put some brown sugar in it. Perhaps my autistic, sugar-junkie son won’t find it! lol Who am I kidding – he’ll think it’s neat and open it up to see what’s in it. lol

cutie wooden chicken hotpad {only $1}, and hand painted tea cup from Australia with a kangaroo on it {75 cents}!

cutie wooden chicken hotpad from Cuba apparently {only $1}, and hand painted tea cup from Australia with a kangaroo on it {75 cents}!

great Pyrex for $4.99, and 2 mugs (Termocrisa - Mexico} for 50 cents each

great Pyrex for $4.99, and 2 mugs (Termocrisa – Mexico} for 50 cents each

I love the blue of this Pyrex piece, and that these Mexican mugs are just like Fire King mugs with a sweet design that reminds me of a quilt.  It will be great to drink coffee from one while I sew!

finally some eggs cups {75 cents for 4}, a neat green water glass (50 cents), and my husband found half a dozen beer infusers for $1.99 each

finally some eggs cups {75 cents for 4}, a neat green water glass (50 cents), and my husband found half a dozen beer infusers for $1.99 each

some vintage tins for $1 each.

some vintage tins for $1 each.

I’ll have to make some biscuits in these to go with some homemade stew. mmmm

neat wooden condiment serving set: platter - 4 little bowls and 4 little spoons. Only $2 at the salvation army.

neat wooden condiment serving set: platter – 4 little bowls and 4 little spoons. Only $2 at the salvation army.

I fell in love with this …. so it kinda fell into my basket.  I don’t need it – but those spoons!!

We also got some clothes – but nothing special.  My daughter is in another growth spurt, and I needed a pair of shorts and some comfy sweatpants.  My husbands style is starting to rub off on me!! oh no!! lol  We also got some books – I found a copy of Neuromancer by William Gibson.  If you haven’t read this book and use the internet – you need to read it.  It was the first book in the genre of cyberpunk and is absolutely great.  I’m trying to get my family to read it….. maybe I need to read it for the upteenth time myself!

Have you gone thrifting??  Share your treasures!

This entry was posted in Thrifty Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

