depression & saying good bye


struggling with depression is hard work.  Throw in other obstacles that living a life and being a parent gives you and sometimes it gets very dark and lonely.  I have many ways of achieving success everyday, but there are days when I almost do not.  That’s the harsh reality of depression.  Some of us don’t make it.

Good bye Wink.

Summer Hearts Mandala

Summer Hearts Mandala

To remind myself that I have to keep doing the hard work, always keep fighting, and never give up I made myself a mandala in Wink’s memory.  Sadness is innermost, but I must let the light in, for it warms me, surround myself with love and allow some sadness to just be.  It’s okay to be sad, and it’s okay to be happy.

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to depression & saying good bye

  1. Kristina says:

    Like

  2. Hugs. This is such a difficult thing to go through and I’m so glad that you took time for important self-care to cope with it. If you haven’t seen it yet, you might be interested in #MandalasForMarinke, my collaborative crochet art project to honor her creativity, provide a creative outlet for our own grief and raise awareness about depression. Info on the Crochet Concupiscence blog.

    Like

  3. 78thStitch says:

    Reblogged this on Westwood Threadworks and commented:
    Heart-felt words

    Like

  4. Frances Metallo says:

    So very sorry Kathryn..I shared what you sent out in the posts…I am here for you…I know it is hard for you…depression people don’t reaize how serious it can be until a tragedy such as this happens…even tough we didn’t meet except via your book…I can tell you have big heart, your caring, sweet….God bless you….Fran

    Like

  5. diana says:

    Hugs for you….

    Like

  6. Pingback: Shelly's Crochet Contribution to Mandalas for Marinke |

  7. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2015 | Sparkle & Doom Designs

Leave a Reply

