Sneak Peek


 

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI have fallen in love with this Dream Catcher Scarf pattern by Glacier Blu.  I had to make it with thread or lace weight yarn and add beads to make a statement necklace.  I had so many ideas.  Here are my completed crocheted Dream Catcher Scarves and I dug through my gemstone bead boxes and starting planning the drops and tassels.  I’m quite excited by these necklaces.  They will be stunning!!

Let’s take a tour of what I’ve laid out!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsOn the top I have cotton thread, weight 10, in a cream with carved jade leaf, red aventurine rounds, moss agate rounds, jasper hearts, soap stone faceted columns, and moss agate chips {which I ended up not using}.  I’m almost done this one as of writing this post.  I added various wooden beads and glass leaves.  It looks so great!

The bottom is hot pink cotton thread, weight 10, with carved skulls in 2 sizes and various hematite beads including an ankh.  I’m going for a goth/punk/rock look.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsOn top I have a beautiful robin’s egg blue thin yarn with carved leopard head jasper beads and goldstone chips.

On the bottom is a varigated purple/white cotton thread, weight 10, with amethyst chips and hearts, and alexandrite rounds.  To this I’m adding goldtone heart lockets and charms.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsOn top I have white cotton thread, weight 10, with turquoise dyed howlite carved leaves, and natural howlite rounds and chunks.

On bottom is lace weight varigated yarn in blues, teals, and cream with AB luster clear quartz points and silver painted glass points.  I’m not decided yet on which I will use.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsOn top is that lace weight yarn, but this time I paired it with some of my favorite gemstones.  Amazonite chips and rounds, two tones of apatite – coin and faceted, and some aveturine dark blue chips.

Again the robin’s egg blue yarn {I only have enough left for some tassels} and I paired it with what opalite beads I had.  Not sure what one’s I will use yet.  The arrowhead or the donuts or maybe the large round?  I also added in banded agate in bright blue, faceted pink morganite, and bright baby blue faceted sapphires.  This one will be so girly and feminine.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThis one is fun!  Bright sock yarn in clashing colours was surprisingly easy to find gemstones for.  Carved serpentine in limey green, India agate in pink and blue, serpentine chips, apatite rounds, and Australian jasper.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThis one will be the star piece.  Thrifted carved bone feather was my launching point.  This one will be first nations inspired.  I’m adding bright red coral, turquoise in various shapes, more carved bone, bone tube beads in black and bone, and some earthy tones jasper rounds.  I’ve got an idea involving geese feathers and quills – so we’ll see if I can make my idea work. 🙂

For all of them I have gone through my chain boxes and most of them will be pieced together from thrifted chains.  Sustainable and re-using – which means each one will be completely One of a Kind.

Which ones do you think will be your favorite?  I’ll be sharing #craftselfie’s on Facebook and doing updates there.  I’m not sure if these will make it Etsy or some other selling site.  Each of these will be unique and one of a kind.  I will not be able to exactly replicate these!! So if you want one – you had better get your dibs in!

🙂

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

