Happy Birthday Jake!


My son turned 16 last Saturday!  16!!

lightsaber card! It lit up and made lightsaber noises when waved around

lightsaber card! It lit up and made lightsaber noises when waved around

we got him a ton of Lego minifigures

we got him a ton of Lego minifigures

an electric shaver! He's getting fuzz.

an electric shaver! He’s getting fuzz.

{sorry for the terrible photos!}

It’s a little hard to believe sometimes that it’s been so long.  It’s been a joyful, tearful, frustrating, rewarding, exhausting, and brave journey.  I am grateful that he is my son, that I am his mother, and that we made it 16 years together.  I learned things about myself I did not know.  My mettle was tried over and over again, like a blacksmith forging a mighty sword.  Hammered over and over again by sadness, anger, obstacles, misunderstanding, depression, fear, loss, and stress.  Plunged into the cool waters of happiness, peace, trust, hard work, patience, luck, friendship, bravery, honesty, and love.

I parented him alone for 10 years, then met my {now} husband and together we are on this journey.  Traveling together I am now no longer alone.  I no longer have to struggle and cry alone.  I no longer have to wish I had someone to share loving moments with.

I am hopeful about the man that Jacob is growing up to be.  I hope that he works hard to reach his full potential, and most of all I want him to be happy.

new mom and baby naps

new mom and baby naps

I collected Pooh stuff for him after he was born

I collected Pooh stuff for him after he was born

3 months or so

3 months or so

obligatory baby-in-the-bathtub photo!

obligatory baby-in-the-bathtub photo!

First Halloween 6 months old

First Halloween
6 months old

He loved how soft Dragon was.  She was a very beautiful cat.

He loved how soft Dragon was. She was a very beautiful cat.

First Christmas 8 months old

First Christmas
8 months old

18 months old he found the diaper cream

18 months old
he found the diaper cream

just under 2 years old

just under 2 years old

2 years old love that smile

2 years old
love that smile

2 years old

2 years old

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

