Spring 2015 NICU Challenge


I joined the Sunset Family Living Spring 2015 NICU Challenge!

I’ve completed several hats so far.  My favorite is the Tiberius’s Newsboy.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs

I love this hat! I made it in mint green, pink, and 2 strands of weight 2 yarn in black and grey. I altered the brim, borrowing a trick from another newsboy pattern to strengthen the brim so that after it’s washed it won’t just flop down {I hope!}  I love the bows.  Patterns easily found on Pinterest.  Super cute, and I’m sure some parents are going to love them.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs The Candy Cane Hat by brianaK is cute, but I found it to end up not stretchy at all. It wasn’t an enjoyable make.  I gave it a fair shake with 2 tries, but not a favorite.

The dark green hat is On The Double Beanie by Blackstone Designs.  Again, not an enjoyable make.  It seemed to take forever to get anywhere.  I used a thicker worsted weight yarn – so it is a rather large infant hat, but you never know.  I decided to go with the designers advice a crochet a button.  I used Mon Petit Violon’s button pattern.  I ❤ it!! So adorable!! I will be making more! Love them.

I have several more hats to make.  Patterns sitting in my queue are Loopy Love, Sugar and Spice, Rosa, and Stripes.  🙂

+6 hats .. Total is 58 on Day 100!! 42 behind. 😦

This entry was posted in 7 Hats, Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

