Spotlight: Cherry Blossom Costuming


Sparkle & Doom Designs

Hallowe’en only comes once a year, but some of us like to dress up more often. Sci-fi and Comic Conventions, and Live Action Role Playing games provide plenty of opportunities to create costumes and enjoy transforming yourself into someone different.

Sharon enjoys creating costumes, which allow her to practice many different crafts.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: Tell us about yourself, what’s your favorite colour?

Sharon: Red

SDD: What’s your favorite food?

Sharon: There’s nothing better in the world than a well done cheeseburger

Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: What are your favorite movie, book, and author?

Sharon: Favourite movie: Way too many to list! I love movies, in a huge range. I love cheesy horrors, wild adventures, silly comedies, down to earth dramas and everything in between. Favourite book: I have a short list of favourites which include Enders Game, Stranger in a Strange Land, The Vampire Lestat. I also really loved the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton, and the Disc World Series by Terry Pratchett.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsSparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: Where do you call home?

Sharon: Saskatoon Saskatchewan

SDD: How long have you been making costumes?

Sharon: I started making costumes by hand for my kids, but I always loved anything that involved dress up or costuming

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: Where did you learn or train?

Sharon: My great grandma was a seamstress, and by the time I was 6 she taught me to sew so that I would stop bugging her for Barbie dresses. The other things, painting and sculpting I picked up from school, and another gramma. Costuming combines so many of the things I love into one really amazing end result. I’m mostly self taught and I made a lot of mistakes on the way.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: What’s your favorite piece? Why?

Sharon: My favourite piece has to be my big sister from bioshock. It took about 6 months to make it. It combined fabric pieces with a lot of armour and it was a lot of fun to create. The helmet has lights in it, but it’s mostly paper mâché, cardboard, dry wall mud, and other little things I collected, mostly trash.

I made my daughter a little sister costume to go with it, and we wore them to the entertainment expo held in Saskatoon.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

 SDD: What’s your funniest fail?

Sharon: My funniest fail was also at the entertainment expo. I was being interviewed by a couple guys for a web show (Crossing Swords) and when I went to demonstrate that the lights in the helmet worked it popped right out and skidded across the aisle, leaving me to try to recover gracefully, and on camera!

SDD: 🙂 I think you recovered quite gracefully!

Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: Do you do other crafts?

Sharon: Yes, I’ve loved crafts of all kinds since I was little. I knit a little, I sew, I paint, I can sculpt in several mediums. I love to decorate my home. I also enjoy learning new things so crafting gives me that opportunity often.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: What crafts are you planning on learning in the future?

Sharon: I recently started on a costume for Sorcha from the movie Willow. Her costume includes a piece of chain mail, which I am currently learning. I’ve also found a few interesting tutorials for some plastics I’d like to try working with next.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

SDD: Where can we find your work?

Sharon: I have a Facebook page named Cherry Blossom Costuming, and another page and website more devoted to clothing and makeup under the name Dirge {www & facebook}.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

 In addition to all the sewing and hot glue gunning Sharon is kept busy raising three children {hullo Candace, Brody & AJ!!} with her partner D’arcy.

Be sure to keep an eye out for Sharon at the next Saskatoon Zombie Walk, Saskatoon Blitz, and Saskatoon Entertainment Expo!

 

This entry was posted in Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

