Ta Da Tuesday: Audrey Boots


Ta Da!!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI made myself a pair of Audrey Boots, the pattern by Mamachee {available here}.  I really like the final product, but I learned a few things.

Sparkle & Doom Designs1) Lion Brand Jiffy yarn may be bulky in LB standards, but is pretty much worsted weight in other brands. That’s pretty important.  It was frustrating to use a bulky size 5 yarn of another brand thinking I could do a straight across switch (size 5 for size 5) and realizing that the slipper is ending up huge!  In the end I used Phentex WW in black {my favorite black!}.

2) Make the slipper one size smaller than your foot size. You want the slipper to fit tightly as it will stretch almost immediately. If you make it “to size” it will be floppy and unwearable the same day you start wearing it. Which can also be extremely frustrating! LOL – so learn from my shaking-my-fist-at-the-sky frustrating experiences.

I like how the slipper looks and I will certainly make it again.  I still have to figure out if I’m going to put a buttons on them, and what buttons of course.

I used Phentex Worsted Weight in black and Isaac Mizrahi Craft Sutton yarn.  I love the peacock colours!

Sparkle & Doom Designs

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

