vermicomposting


Ever since we got a new furnace and the basement has been about 10 or 15 degrees warmer my worm population as tripled or so!

Sparkle & Doom Designs

My worms bins sure aren’t pretty but they do the trick.  I have 3 stacked on each other, the bottom the oldest and most composted. The one on the very bottom catches some water and is where I put the compost first until the upper 2 bins break down enough to accept more material.  I might need more bins next year if my worms keep up this crazy growth rate.  Although a bunch will be going into the garden in the spring.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsBottom bin is almost done.  You can see how the weight of the 2 bins above it have compressed the water out and how much the material has broken down from a full bin to about 2 inches or so of worm castings.  Still lots of worms though so there must still be food in there for them.  They can move up to the next bin through quarter sized holes in the bottom of the bin above it.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThis is my second bin, and it got quite wet. I found cardboard had blocked so of the holes at the bottom. I scooped some of these worms out {they were fine!} and stirred up the material and added dry shredded paper to soak  the up moisture.  You can see a bunch were attempting to escape out the side, probably so they wouldn’t drown.  I’ll be checking the bins this weekend again, and probably emptying out the bottom bin of worm dirt.  The second bin will become the bottom bin, and I’ll put the very bottom water catching bin at the top and the newly empty bin at the very bottom to become the first break down bin.

It’s certainly not pretty, but it doesn’t really smell, and it’s pretty awesome seeing our food and paper waste becoming fertile healthy soil for my garden.  I also water my plants with worm tea cut with an equal amount of water.  To much tea can burn plants so you have to dilute it.  But it’s super healthy for the house plants. 🙂  If you don’t vermicompost, you should give it a try. My 4 bins were about $20-25, and you just have to carefully drill/cut holes in the bottoms for water to escape.

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

