Thrifty Thursday: yarn scraps


Sparkle & Doom Designs

Everyone has them.  The long end tails after you weave in and finish a project, the last bit of yarn left when you finish a project. To small to make anything other than a simple flower, maybe.  I’ve had a lot this past year, and most of them I wound together in a ball, and sowed the seed of an idea of what to do with them in my mind.  Finally it flowered.  A scrappy ball/pillow!

Sparkle & Doom Designs

I’m using the Death Star Pillow pattern {available here} and a 4.25mm/G hook.  It’s working up great!  The inside is a mess of ends, but since that’s going to be filled with polyfil, I’m not worried.

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs

I’m knotting the yarn together using a sliding double knot method.  You knot one strand around the other, then pull them together. The two knots jam up together and hold securely.  Pretty easy!

Now to get finishing my WIPs so I have yarn scraps to grow my ball! 🙂

What do you do with your scraps? I’ve done the leave-them-in-a-suet-feeder for the birds to use for nest building.  I didn’t get colourful nests, I got ugly yarn bits and tangles in the weeds, tree, and grass. 😦

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

