walk with me


sweet wee mushrooms greet me at the start of my walk...

sweet wee mushrooms greet me at the start of my walk…

...and I'm happy to see the plum trees in full bloom.  We cutthe grass, so no more dandelions, but the bees have these pretty blossoms to pollinate now.

…and I’m happy to see the plum trees in full bloom. We cut the grass, so no more dandelions, but the bees have these pretty blossoms to pollinate now.

2 out of 3 travel companions {not counting myself}, Jack and Frank walk with me.  Frank is happy to go for a walk as he spends his day on a long leash under a tree.  If he wouldn't run away and get quilled he would be able to be off leash like the other 3 dogs.

2 out of 3 travel companions {not counting myself}, Jack and Frank walk with me. Frank is happy to go for a walk as he spends his day on a long leash under a tree. If he wouldn’t run away and get quilled he would be able to be off leash like the other 3 dogs.

The saskatoon berries are blooming, and so are the black cherries!  I am looking forward to making more jam and jelly this fall.

The saskatoon berries are blooming, and so are the black cherries! I am looking forward to making more jam and jelly this fall.

Silverstone and Jack followed Frank and I.  It was our own little traveling pack.

Silverstone and Jack followed Frank and I. It was our own little traveling pack.

Sweet wee pansies....

Sweet wee pansies….

...and wild snapdragons {I think?} also added their blooms to the menu for the bees.

…and wild snapdragons {I think?} also added their blooms to the menu for the bees.

I saw deer tracks on the road, and probably coyote. Also some horse tracks, so either someone's horse got loose, or someone was riding the back roads.

I saw deer tracks on the road, and probably coyote. Also some horse tracks, so either someone’s horse got loose, or someone was riding the back roads.

Our water table is quite high, and a lot of our land is turning into swamp.  You can see how it's killed the trees.

Our water table is quite high, and a lot of our land is turning into swamp. You can see how it’s killed the trees.

I can see Yankee Lake from here at the end of our property. A half mile from the grid road.  I should visit this lake this year and see how lake-y it really is. I've heard it's just a giant slough.

I can see Yankee Lake from here at the end of our property. A half mile from the grid road. I should visit this lake this year and see how lake-y it really is. I’ve heard it’s just a giant slough.

Standing at the top of the hill, I prepare to head back home.  I've walked half a mile along side our property line.

Standing at the top of the hill, I prepare to head back home. I’ve walked half a mile along side our property line.

So much water has killed a lot of the trees.  This one apparently wasn't ready to come down.

So much water has killed a lot of the trees. This one apparently wasn’t ready to come down.

Lots of interesting plants are growing....

Lots of interesting plants are growing….

... and I love how interesting they look. What was also nice is that the dragonflies have hatched, so I had hardly any mosquitoes to bother me. :)

… and I love how interesting they look. What was also nice is that the dragonflies have hatched, so I had hardly any mosquitoes to bother me. :)walk with me

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

