Dutch-ish Bunting, canning tags, and cards!


I've gotten the paper collection!

I’ve gotten the paper collection!

I haven’t posted any cricut adventures for a while.  It was put away in favour of more crochet I guess.  But when I decided to check out what Free Cuts of Week there was I took it out again and got busy!  The cartridge available was called Doodlecharms, and it had a fantastic canning jar that I had to use!

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom DesignsI purchased this stamp with the intention of making gift tags for my canning, so I couldn’t resist pairing it with the jar cut. 🙂 Love it!  Those ink pens worked really good.  Surprisingly since they were dollar store purchases made at least 5 years ago. 🙂  I really need to get some mores ink pads if I’m going to expand my paper skills.  I’ve seen that you use them to add shadow and dimension to your cuts.  My cards look quite amateur compared to those using the ink colours.

To use up all the paper {super thrifty I am} I also made some smaller jars.  So cute!  I’m sure I could glue them on the top or front of jars or in scrapbook pages – or bettet yet – on canning recipe cards.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsSpeaking of inkpads, I found this rainbow striped one in my stash, and it was fun to use. 🙂

Sparkle & Doom Designs

I’m looking forward to canning this summer & fall and using my sweet tags.  For now I’ll store them in a sealed bag.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThe Doodlecharms had other sweet cuts, so I made my niece a birthday card.

I used the bunny cuts and the cuts that came with the Expression2.  I had an alphabet stamp set I used for the letters.  I don’t trust my writing.  🙂  I don’t have very pretty handwriting, so I probably should just sit down and practise.

It’s a simple card, no rhinestones, brads, or any fancy stickers.  I’m just starting to get into card making, and obviously need lots of practise.  I made doubles of the cards I made, just so A) I have an idea of what I’ve made, and B) in case something happens to first one!! lol

outside

outside

inside

inside

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI’ve been wanting to make this project since I bought the Folk Art Festival cartridge.  A dutch bunting for my granma-in-law.  She hails from The Netherlands, and she collects those blue and white dutch plates.  I also made her a couple of necklaces with dutch beads given to her by her family in The Netherlands.  🙂  So I knew she would love this.

dental tool!

dental tool!

using scraps

using scraps

A couple of tricks I’ve learned is: use a dental tool {from the dollar store} to get out the wee bits of paper, and use the scraps to sandwich the string when you glue it on to the back of your bunting pieces.

4-toned bunting!

4-toned bunting!

I couldn’t get a good photo of it hanging up, so here it is in its sprawled glory.  {I popped the cuckoo-cuckoo doors open!}  I used 4 tones of blue, rather then white on blue.  It’s so cute I may just nee to make one for myself. 🙂  I also made her a card to match.  I love this cartridge.  I totally recommend buying it if you love this type of folky imagery.  Now I’m off to make a Gnome bunting for myself – as that’s the new free cut of the week. SQUEE!

Sparkle & Doom Designs

This entry was posted in Cricut and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

