Ta Da Tuesday!


How exciting to show off some finished projects!

First of all, I worked on an Elf Hat.  The pattern was based on the Striped Elf Hat pattern posted by Frogging Along, but changed in colour changes and number of rounds and where I placed the increases.  I also added the ribbed hem, which I really like in my toques and beanies.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI used a dusty rose colour, and a small skein of a green and pink varigated yarn.  That odd skein had been hanging around at the top of a bag of odd stash remenants and had such sweet colours.  It really spoke to me, and I had a hard time deciding what to make with it.  I was considering making a baby hat.  But I really wanted to make anoter elf hat, so that’s when I decided to use it.  I have a lot of that dusty rose yarn in my stash {balls and balls}, so it feels good to use some up.  I made the pompom with the dusty rose and what was left of the varigated yarn.  It looks a bit messy, but I still love it.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsIt fits me, so I’d say it was teens and ladies sized.  I need to get a photo of Rhiannon wearing it as all my selfies came out not so great. 🙂

Sparkle & Doom DesignsRuga Hat for my man is also finished.  This project had a lot of false starts as I familiarized myself with the pattern.  I still don’t think it looks right.  I’m thinking that maybe there is only supposed to be 2 rounds of single crochet after the round with the spike stitch.  The spike stitch was easy to figure out and looks pretty cool.  I made it in red & white as in the original pattern photo’s the pattern looked like maple leaves, so I wanted to do it in patriotic colours {being Canadian and all eh?}

Sparkle & Doom Designs

My husband is NOT a fan of pompom’s and Mr. Strong does all his hats as rectangles that are drawn up at the top and the resulting puckering hidded with a pompom.  Since I wanted my husband to actually wear this toque {several false starts, paid pattern, and all} I had to adjust the pattern so that it made a beanie.  And since I was making so many adjustments I might as well add my ribbed hem too!  I’m not used to making a beanie from the bottom up, so I’m not sure it came out so awesome.  A wee bit of a “nipple” bump can be seen, but I tried to sew that down with the tail.  I guess I’ll see how it wears and know if I have a winning technique or not.  I hope he likes it. 🙂

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThis heart cowl has been hiding in the bottom of a project basket for over a month!! {pre-Valentine’s Day} But I found it and wove in the zillion yarn ends and got ‘er done.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

Look for the pink elf hat and the heart cowl in a shop near you in the near future!

{just kidding – they’ll be in my shop…. still in the near future. 😉 }

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

