March’s Afghan: Celtic Lace WIP


Sparkle & Doom Designs

Every since I saw this little booklet of Celtic inspired afghans {and WHOA! $88 for a used copy??} I’ve wanted to make one.  The technique is interesting.  You crochet seperate pieces that you weave into each other and then join them with a border.  My husband really really liked them too, so it was a given that the blanket I make would end up on our king size bed.  Which means I will be needing way more yarn than what the pattern calls for.  How much more, I really don’t know.  But it’s an adventure!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsWe decided on dark green, bright blue, aran cream, and lavender.  The blue reminds my husband of Braveheart, the lavender of heather, and the white and green are beautiful natural colours.

Pattern: Celtic Lace by Dot Drake {here for free!}

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft in Lavendar Blue {left over from Betsy’s cowl}; Red Heart Comfort Blue and Green in giant 16 oz balls; Bernat SV WW in Aran {from Birch Hills stash buy}

Hook: 4.00 mm

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI did the math, and to do the size of the pattern I would have to get 7 steps done each day.  I know I’ll have to make it bigger, so this afghan may not be done for March 31st.  I’ve got quite a stack of the first step done.  All of this step will be done in the green.  The second step is the blue, and the last steps as is in the lavender and aran alternating.  It’s joined as you go, so I’ll be able to show off what it will look like sooner rather than later. 🙂

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThis is what a finished motif will look like.  I did this one to try out the colours and to show my husband.  I think it’s going to be fantastic!!

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March’s Afghan: Celtic Lace WIP

  1. Sue says:

    That is going to be so beautiful! Love the colours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

