Rhiannon’s Elf Hat Ta da!


Sparkle & Doom Designs

Ta da!!  Isn’t this adorable?!?

Stats:

Sparkle & Doom Designs

The pattern was pretty easy, not done in the round however.  The onlt real changes I made was to make the head part deeper {the creator had mentioned she did this as well}, so I would certainly expect to add at least 5 more rows.  I can’t remember how many I added. Sorry!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI also ended the hat with ribbing rather than just double crochet all the way to the end.  I find that ribbing helps a hat “stick” to the head and gives a better fit.  It’s more stretchy than regular double crochets, and will hold alot better.  This hat needs that support given the weight of the tail part pulling the hat back off the head.

I added a huge pompom to the end, purple by request.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsIt’s hard to tell by the photos but the hat is purple and green.  🙂 My daughters favorite colours.

I had 4 balls of this yarn in the huge stash I purchased this past summer.  I am very pleased to have stash busted 2 of the balls for this project!! 🙂

I have a few ideas for other colours schemes for more elf hats.  I know I want one, and maybe I’ll make one or two for fun and throw them in the shop … after the zillion other items on my to do list. 🙂  As always I take custom orders, so let me know!!

Enjoy some more photos!

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs

This entry was posted in Crochet, I make stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rhiannon’s Elf Hat Ta da!

  1. Sheri goad says:

    This is fantabulous! Love the color choices and the adjustments you used. I have done the ribbed bottom as well when I didn’t use the furry yarn. I have found I do it on a lot of my hats. Definitely makes a sturdier base. Job well done. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

