3 for Thursday: paper flowers


I made these paper flowers with my new Cricut and the Giant Flower art cartridge!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsA pansy, a black-eyed susan, and a hibiscus! oh my!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI was most unhappy with how this one turned out.  Joining the petals in to the slots and having the middle not fall apart was impossible.  But glue saved the day!!

I cut most of the flowers at 3.5 inches, which won’t mean to much to you non-cricutters.  But basically it means that the main component would be cut at 3.5 inches tall and everything in proportion to that.  The directions for each flower stated they would be best cut at around 10-12 inches.  That would have meant my pansy would be close to 2 feet across!!  As it is this guy is close to 6 inches across.  Plenty big enough.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

The daisy got turned into a black-eyed susan, and I left off the ridgey thing that was supposed to be around the black part.  It wouldn’t go into the slots, glue properly, and pretty much flung itself onto the floor – never to be seen again.  Seriously.  I don’t know where it went.  Maybe a dog ate it? New cat toy? ah well.  Still looks good!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsThis one was the last one I made.  I was hoping for the best, but expecting the worst.  I am pretty stoked about how awesome it came out.  Gorgeous!! {pats self on back}

Sparkle & Doom DesignsA closer look at the super cool inside!

Sparkle & Doom DesignsAnd another glamour shot!! 😀

I want to make the rose and the lotus as well sometime.  I’m thinking summer garland?  Maybe some BBQ decorations?  We’ll have to see!

This entry was posted in Cricut and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

