Joining the 2014 Moogly Afghan Crochet-A-Long


Sparkle & Doom Designs

Moogly is a site that I like to frequent and I love her patterns and pattern collections.  When she announced a afghan CAL, I was pleased to join in.  Considering that one of my goals for 2014 is to make one afghan a month, I figured this would make an excellent December afghan.  Especially since I’ll probably be super busy making gifts and won’t have enough time to make an afghan all in one month.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsBlock #1 is call Anticipation Mystery Afghan Square, by Margaret MacInnis.

This square features crochet overlay {mine done in peacock blue} and is a good introduction to this design element.

I decided to use Herrschners’ Afghan Yarn, which is 2-ply.  Since it’s fairly thinner than worsted weight – the recommended weight – I decided to use 4.00mm and 4.5mm hooks instead of the 5.0mm and 5.5mm recommended sizes.  My finished square is about 10 inches square.  This yarn has a nice sheen to it as well.  I have a ton of it and in about 12-15 different colours, so I think I’ll enjoy mixing it up a bit in regards to colour choices.

Come join the CAL.  Moogly is posting a new square every second Thursday!

Ravelry Group!

Sparkle & Doom Designs Sparkle & Doom Designs

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

