Cricut, my new toy


Sparkle & Doom DesignsGoing through some photos, I realized I didn’t share my first experience with my new Cricut.  Before I got mine, I didn’t really know how it did what it did, and what you would actually be cutting.  I thought it would just cut shapes out of a piece of paper.  I didn’t realize that it would do that – but also creat dimension to the paper images you would be cutting.  I didn’t realize that it would be the layering of images that would make the machine valuable and interesting.  The first couple of days after Christmas found me sitting down cutting images and practising using the interface, figuring out what this machine could do.

Sparkle & Doom Designs

It’s the layering that makes the images more effective,  Most of the images already loaded on the machine have 4 layers.  Allowing other colours to peek through holes and cut outs.  Patterned paper would be very effective on some of the pieces to really make them special.  Like th eribbon on the present image.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsSparkle & Doom Designs

I was thinking of different ways I could cut these images.  For instance, on the rose/flower, using a floral paper for the top swirl.  Or a photo of a flower from your garden for the solid pink flower shape centering the most interesting part on the actual flower section.  Allowing the flower to peek through the swirl.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsSparkle & Doom DesignsThere are even adorable little animals that remind me of the Skele-Animals that my daughter loves.  That could be done if you cut the pieces out of black and white paper and drew on the bones afterwards.  They’re so cute as they are as well.  Planning the paper levels takes a minute or so, but the results are worth it.  Again, I think of cutting photos of pets out of the top most layer would make such a cute scrapbook page.  It’s something I’m going to have to try.

You don’t have to cut all the layers as well.  In the case of the bunny, if you didn’t want the ear cut-outs just leave it off.  Especially if you’re cutting a photo, then you don’t have to worry so much about losing an important bit of the photo.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI’m developing a little folder of these images, and keeping them seperated so I can play with the layers.  Using them as planning templates for future real scrapbook pages.  It’s interesting to see how the layers work together.  The machine certainly is more than what I originally thought it was.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsAlong with the machine itself, I received three cartridges.  The photo above shows a butterfly and snails that I cut from one.  It’s centered around gardening, and there are a lot of interesting images.  I haven’t explored it to much, but as gardening and canning season comes closer, I think it’ll become more applicable!

This entry was posted in Cricut, I make stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

