Lucia Sweater Ta Da!


Sparkle & Doom Designs

I really do love Crochet Today! magazine.  Every issue has several projects that I want to make.  The November/December 2013 issue is no exception.  The Bubbly Wrap, Tinsel Wrap, Felicity Wrap, Jolly Old Mittens, Long Winters Cap, Blitzen Bag, Dasher Gloves, Prancer Sweater {for Frank!}, … so many!  I started the Lucia Sweater while staying at me Gma’s after the November Rotary sale.  We had gotten back from a relaxing Michaels shopping trip and I had gotten myself several balls of Lion Brands Tweed Yarn in Seashells, an orange/pink/yellow colourway.  It was a bulky yarn rather than a medium weight as the pattern calls for – but I didn’t let that stop me.

Sparkle & Doom DesignsI used the small square pattern for the body and sleeves.  It was joined-as-you-go, so construction was easy.  The body is 3 X 4 front and back, sleeves 2 X 3. I did a zigzag chain join on the sides to give me an extra 2 inches or so ease.  It meant some fiddling st the underarm join for the sleeve, but I just crocheted the inch ease into the same chain loop of the under arm motif.  It works and fits, which is all that counts, right? 🙂   I really like the cowl neck, and I’ll be keeping this design feature in mind for any future sweaters.  The construction was easy, so any beginner would be able to make this sweater if they can make a granny square. 🙂  The yarn did a nice slow colour change, and I really like it.  It’s so very soft to after a wash.

{sorry for the blurriness!}

{sorry for the blurriness!}

 

Stats:

Ta Da!

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

