Creeper Toque & Beanie Ta Da


***

Available by private ordering only. {leave a comment and we’ll get started!}  Will NOT be available in my Etsy shop.

See also my Minecraft Sword Scarf & Enderman Beanie & Steve Beanie!!

***

I bought this varigated green yarn from a Facebook vendor about a month ago.  It really reminded me of a creeper from Minecraft.   Making cowls and beanies for the craft sale in November has gotten me thinking about what would work for the consumer.  Minecraft is quite popular in this household and at my children’s high school.  So I decided to take a couple of days and work on creeper toques/beanies and see if I could make something that was going to be liked.  My kids really liked theirs, and since they haven’t taken them off except to sleep and shower, I figure I did a good job.

Sparkle&DoomDesignsThis is my first one.  Not happy with the lack of stretchiness.  I used half double crochet for the body of the toque, which made the graphing easy, but the fabric to stiff and tight.  It’s also a little long for what I wanted.  Jake doesn’t mind though.

Sparkle&DoomDesignsMy second one is much better, and will be how I make them in the future.  All double crochet, which gives the beanie perfect stretch.  The graphing was not as hard as I thought it would, and came out really great.

Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesignsKids happy makes me happy!  And for those who don’t know what Minecraft is – it’s a really great fun game.  Creepers are one of the monsters in the game and are pretty spooky in my opinion.  They always make me jump when the show up. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

