harvest time: chokecherries


Frank, my pug-elkhound cross

Frank, my pug-elkhound cross

I went scouting out how the chokecherries were doing, and where they were, this past Wednesday.  I took my buddies Frank and Try with me.  An hour later, I knew that the next few days were going to be busy!

we stripped this tree bare

we stripped this tree bare yesterday

Sparkle&DoomDesigns

mmmm chokecherries

mmmm chokecherries

There is still one other huge tree/bush to harvest, not mention all the roadside chokecherries in the area.  I don’t think anyone else really harvests them around here.  It’s hot work, but in 3 hours we got ALOT of berries.  Cleaning them is a chore as well. It’s been a tiring 2 days.  Today I made one batch of jelly, and will get another batch started later today{boil the berries then let the juice drip out over night}.  I got almost 5 cups of juice from the 12 cups of berries I boiled last night.  I only added 3 cups of water, so the berries themselves added 2 cups of liquid!

I also found a few plants that I want to identify. I don’t have the energy right now, but I’ll post them here in case any of you know them. 🙂

Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesignsThe land is slightly drier than last year, but the ground water is still very high. Turning some of the pasture into swamp.

note the cattails - indicating soggy ground at the very least, and the dead trees from drowning the roots.

note the cattails – indicating soggy ground at the very least, and the dead trees from drowning the roots.

It’s beautiful in the pasture. Lots of interesting plants, but way to many spiders!

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

