cucumber relish & pickles!


Lots of cucumbers to preserve!

Sparkle&DoomDesigns

Lots of cucumbers are coming out of the garden, and there are a ton a wee ones and blooms, so I think I’ll be making a lot more relish and pickles this year.  The snapabove is just the cucmbers I used for Round One of making pickles.  I used 4 of roughly the same size cucumbers for the relish I made also.

Sparkle&DoomDesignsIf you are ever wondering which end of the cucumber is the “bloom end” {the end the books tell you to cut off due to the enzymes that will spoil the preserving} it’s really easy to figure out.  The bloom end is the lightest end. The yellowing/light green starts at the bloom end and works it’s way to the stem end. 🙂  I only had one pepper and no onion that the recipe called for when making this cucumber relish, so I substituted zucchini. I hope it works out!

CLICK to go to Small Measure and buy this book!  It's awesome!

CLICK to go to Small Measure and buy this book! It’s awesome!

Sparkle&DoomDesignsThere seems to be a lot of liquid in the jars, so I hope it gels or thickens up!

The recipe is easy, and really the only pain is all the chopping.  If you didn’t destroy all the food processors when you so much as look at them {ahem, that would be me} you could probably get this part done faster.  Canning isn’t hard!

Sparkle&DoomDesigns

The above snap is from Round One of pickle making. Hand sliced by me. They’re about 1/4 to 1/8 th of an inch thick, not to bad!  My dear husband enthusiastically sliced the cucumbers for Round Two with a 1980’s gadget that I would probably injure myself with.  He loved cutting the veggies that way he made stew with sliced vegtables too!  For this pickle recipe I used one I clipped from a magazine, but I also took Ashley‘s advice and sprinkled coarse salt on the cucumbers and let them sit for an hour or so to dehydrate them a bit.  Basically 1L (4 cups) of water + 1L white vinegar + 125 mL (1/2 cup) sugar + 80 mL (1/3 cup) pickling spices {comes in a package labelled such} all boiled together for 5-10 minutes, then poured into the sterillized and hot jars you already stuffed with cucmber slices. Use a plastic spatula to  get air bubbles and pockets out of the jars, and Easy Peasy.  Put the sterillized lids on the jars and boil them for 15 minutes.  I add 5 minutes to every recipe due to our altitude around here.

Round One

Round One

Round Two: note that he cut 2 jars worth the long way for sandwich pickles.

Round Two: note that he cut 2 jars worth the long way for sandwich pickles.

ROund Two

ROund Two

That above recipe will make 3 1L (4 cups) jars of pickles.  You’ll have a wee bit of liquid left over, but I use a slotted spoon to get as much of the spices into the jars as I can after they’re full to right below the start of the threading.  They have to sit for at least a week before you can try them.  My husband is quite eager to taste them. 🙂

Canning Count:

  • 6 – 1L jars of cucumber pickles
  • 6 – 250mL jars of cucumber (+zucchini) relish
  • 5.5 – 250mL jars of zucchini relish

My goal is to have 14-16 jars of relish, and 12 jars of pickles.  Anything over that will be slated for selling and gifting.

🙂

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

