foraging


when we moved to the farm I wanted to endeavor to live closer to the land and use the land as it is.  Having chickens, gardening, and foraging.

Sparkle&DoomDesigns

We have saskatoon, chokecherries, and hazelnuts {I think} along this side road.  The chokecherries {aka black cherries} aren’t ripe yet {that’ll be in September}, and the nuts are no where near ripe.

Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesigns

But the saskatoons sure are!  With Rhiannon keeping a look out for bears, Jake and I got busy picking.  We’ll have to go out a few more times to get them all.  I think we’ll freeze this batch, but I’ll be looking up jam/jelly recipes.  My black cherry jelly came out so yummy two years ago.  I’m looking forward to making it again.  We didn’t get any berries last year due to a late frost, but it looks like there will be a ton this fall.

Sparkle&DoomDesignsThis is a photo I took last week.  That’s a hummingbird flying there. 🙂

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

