vintage magazine look through


While I was in Hudson Bay teaching beadwork, there was a fleamarket across the road that I visited on Saturday. 🙂  I found a box of McCall Needlework magazines for $10.  I’ll go through them and share some interesting pages with you.

Starting at the earliest: McCall Needlework Fall-Winter 1950-51

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe cover.  Very interesting and looks like an embroidery sampler.

I took several snaps of the inside and uploaded them to Flickr in the Vintage Magazines set.

There are a few great advertisements, and lots of interesting patterns I would like to have had.  It seems like the magazine is full of teasers, and you have to order the leaflets in order to get the patterns you wanted. 😦 boo!!  So these magazines are seeming to be a giant catalogue, with yarn ads, and ads on how to make money at home glueing rhinestones to jewelry blanks.

I, however, bought a magazine recently that I am very excited about!

Vogueknitting Crochet 2013 Special Collector's Edition

Vogueknitting Crochet 2013 Special Collector’s Edition

wire crochet! (no directions, just an ad)

wire crochet! (no directions, just an ad)

granny square dress!!

granny square dress!!

stunning dress!!

stunning dress!!

love this bag!!

love this bag!!

love this skirt!

love this skirt!

Anyways, home again.  I’ll be busy putting in the garden this week!

I also hope to get a dreamcatcher or two finished and list them in the shop! 🙂  I really liked making them!  I hope that others wanting to own a dreamcatcher to help them dream happier dreams will consider mine.

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

