earrings-a-day march 24 & 25


thrifted steel & hematite earrings

thrifted steel & hematite earrings

Sparkle&DoomDesigns close up Sparkle&DoomDesigns close up 2I found these really interesting hexagon steel beads in the Thrift Bin.  I paired them with some silver spacers and neat hematite beads.

These are fairly small/short earrings, so they’ll fit everyone.

I used a very thin dark blue wire in 26 gauge.  I double wrapped the top because they needed to have some visual weight and strength.  I used black metal findings (jump rings, and shepherd hooks) to complete these earrings.

Sparkle&DoomDesigns steel earrings

Teal Shell Branches Earrings

Teal Shell Branches Earrings

Sparkle&DoomDesigns teal shell earringsNow that I’ve made a weeks worth of Thrift Bin earrings, now it’s on to the drawer of shell beads.

I really love these earrings!!

They’re chips of shells dyed teal, so choosing similar sized pieces was the challenge.  I choose teal seed beads that have an aurora borealis finish to make the branches.  Since I decided to use 7 pieces of shell with 5 beads between each branch, I strung on 35+ 5 beads (to make the topa bit longer).  Each branch is five beads with a picot of 4 beads holding the shell in place.  These earrings require a basic understanding of bead weaving,but otherwise are fairly easy.

They’re finished with a jump ring and shepherd hook. 🙂  I took a lot of photos, so I’ve posted them as thumbnails for you to click on if you want.

Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesigns Sparkle&DoomDesigns

This entry was posted in Earrings-A-Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

