earrings-a-day march 18


Stained Glass Earrings made from thrifted beads

Stained Glass Earrings made from thrifted beads

Sparkle & Doom Designs close upI really like these interesting “stained glass” components I found in the thrift bin.  Very gothy.

I decided to use coloured wire, as I knew there would be a lot of wire “showing” in this piece and I also wanted to highlight the red in the component.

Using black faceted glass beads from the thrift bin, I put them on the wire with a loop at both ends. Except of course the larger bead that would be at the bottom.

One of the things that you should make sure you do is have your loops at 90 degrees to each other.  It looks neater, and more professional.

Sparkle& Doom Designs stained glass over viewI attached three different glass beads at the top, keeping the biggest on at the top.  That keeps the focus on the stained glass component.

Then I connected the eight beads for the bottom.

It makes for a long earring, but I like that style.

BTW, the stained glass component isn’t really glass, I think it’s some sort of resin.

Stained Glass Earrings

Stained Glass Earrings

This entry was posted in Earrings-A-Day, I make stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to earrings-a-day march 18

  1. asliceofsuzi says:

    Those are really pretty, a little long for my taste, but I love the contrast of the black beads with the coloured wire.

    Like

Leave a Reply

