A day trip to Nisbet Trout Pond


We’re aching for summer to begin!  Today was forecast to be sunny and warm so we made plans to go fishing at a local trout pond.  I’m not much for fishing, so I brought crochet to keep me busy, and relaxing in the hot hot sunshine.

blog2012.05.26 ph01

Working on Coco the Cat, second time around. This time using two strands and a 5.5 mm hook.

I just loved lieing on a a blanket in the sun.  There wasn’t a lot of wind, which was cool when it blew, and NO bugs. 😀

I’m redoing this pattern as it didn’t work out the first time around.  SO I adjusted my yarn and hook size.  Hopefully I can get her done before the next issue of Crochet Today! comes out with the next installment of her outfits.

My partner, his BFF, his daughter, and my two kids fished in the pond.  Well if you call sortof getting a huge plastic hook

blog2012.05.26 ph08

Rhiannon casting into the pond.

from a Dora the Explorer fishing rod toy fishing…. then Little A was fishing with the big kids. This was the first time my guys have been fishing.  Kindof sad I know.  They enjoyed it, even if they didn’t catch anything.  Although it probably helped that they weren’t trapped in a boat, as I spent much of my childhood fishing time.

My guy and Jake fishing, with Little A playing in the water.

This is probably a good sport for Jake.  No interaction with other people, no pressure to “win”, and it’s pretty easy to learn.

blog2012.05.26 ph06

through Nisbet Forest

I decided to get some exercise, so Little A and I went for a short walk with Frank.

The fishermen left behind!

We had to avoid another family with 3 dogs off of their leashes on this side of the pond. Not very impressed with that.

blog2012.05.26 ph05

Little A running back to daddy.

This tree must have fallen down recently due to the recent atv tracks.

blog2012.05.26 ph04

me enjoying the day!

So when we got back there was more relaxing… for Frank and me. 🙂

blog2012.05.26 ph03

Frank enjoying being out with his family

blog2012.05.26 ph02

I finished this bright spiral bib for a friend who’s becoming a daddy in June/July.

I hope everyone has a great sunny weekend!

This entry was posted in I make stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

