Rhiannon’s Chain Cowl: Free Pattern


I made this cowl for my daughter last weekend, hence the name Rhiannon’s Chain Cowl.

blog2012.05.07 ph01

Rhiannon’s Chain Cowl: the original.

I’ve seen button chain cowl’s, but this one doesn’t button up.

Here’s the pattern!

Rhiannon’s Chain Cowl

Materials:

yarn: various types (I used worsted weight, baby weight, eyelash, and a fancy yarn)

hook: 5.5 mm

Directions:

1) pick out your yarns and figure out what order you’d like to use them in.  I did two repeats of my yarn order and my last row was the yarn I started with.

2) The pattern is (3 single crochet, 10 chain) X however many to get to your desired length.  So you could have it short like the one I made or make it long enough to go around twice.

Round One: chain in sets of 13 until you get to your desired length, slip stitch in first chain making sure not to twist the chain to create a circle.

Round Two: starting in any chain, slipstitch with new yarn, chain 1, sc in starting chain, 2 sc in next 2 stitches,* ch10, skip 10 chains, 3sc in next 3 chains. Repeat from *. Slip stitch in first sc.  Fasten off.

Round Three – End: starting in the first sc of any group of three, slipstitch with new yarn, chain 1, sc in starting chain, 2 sc in next 2 stitches,* ch10, skip 10 chains, 3sc in next 3 chains. Repeat from *. Slip stitch in first sc.  Fasten off.

Knot and weave in all ends.

Variations:

Since this is such a simple pattern, there are going to be lots of ways to change it up.  I have some ideas and will post them as I make them.  I’d love to see what you come up with, so please take a photo of your cowls so I can feature them!! 🙂

Also if you have any questions, I’d love to help you out.

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rhiannon’s Chain Cowl: Free Pattern

  1. Sue says:

    Looks great and easy too! I will have to give it a try.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Double Rainbow Cowl | Sparkle & Doom Designs

Leave a Reply

