Make and Make Do & Mend


I didn’t have a very productive weekend, so I have a lot of catch-up to do this week.  I decided I really needed to tackle the growing pile of mending. Especially since I started to get worried that my kids were outgrowing those clothes! haha! There is mainly jeans with their knees blown out. Not a surprise really.

blog2011.03.28 photo002

I also kinda quilted the patches. I think they came out pretty great.

blog2011.03.28 photo003

So I started with the pair that hasn’t been mended at all yet.  Using an outgrown t-shirt I patched the knees with the hawiiaian flowers.  I sew an old sock or stretchy material on the inside as well.  To re-inforce the mending and also so that the “pretty” side lasts a little longer.

For the pair previously patched with a granny square and crocheted bird motif I used a Picot Flower from Attic24 and cute Leaves from Lady Crochet.

blog2011.03.28 photo001

The square is thrifted, and the bird is from the book Crochet Adorned

blog2011.03.28 photo005

I should totally offer my services for mending eh? 🙂

I’ve got 3 or 4 more pairs to go for Rhiannon (who obviously crawls around a lot), and a couple for Jake.  His are less exciting being a popped button or 2.

blog2011.03.28 photo004I started a new multi-strand necklace as a gift for someone, and worked on the crystal netted necklace as well.  No progress made on the dragon.

I also found a paper-piecing WIP that I really need to finish.  I’ll share that when it’s done. 🙂

blog2011.03.28 photo006

Bead Soup! There are a lot of beads that go into making a good soup.

I hope to start stocking my shop with my paper bead jewelery and button jewelery this week, so keep an eye out!

😀

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make and Make Do & Mend

  1. TanitIsis says:

    Love the quilted patches! I wish I had the patience for fixes like this…

    Like

  2. Nicolle says:

    Oh thank you! I love how you patched these up. I have two pair that are in dire need. I spent so much time crawling after my little boy before he began walking that I burned holes in two pairs of jeans. Sheesh! You’ve inspired me! Love the quilted look, as well as the crocheted pieces. Lovely! :>

    Like

Leave a Reply

