when will spring spring?


Wow!  It’s been a crazy week.  Lots of things going on, but still some crafting getting done as well.

I managed to post some more earrings into my Etsy Shop.

I am almost done my circle poncho, just the ends to sew in and trim.  It doesn’t look “exactly” how I imagined it would be, but I’m happy with it.  Happy it’s done, happy I can wear it this upcoming spring.  I love the colour contrasted with the greys.  It’s completely done with thrifted yarn.  The circles themselves were bought premade.  I had to make a few more to complete it, so I figured out that pattern.  If you guys are super interested in knowing the pattern, I could write it out. Otherwise I just did rounds of single, half-double, and double stitches around the neck with decreases spaced every three stitches after the first row to “tighten” the neck hole so that it didn’t fall of my shoulders.  I also edged it in single stitches along the hem to complete it.  I was considering putting a fancy border on it (a la Around the Corner Crochet Borders by Edie Eckman), but I think that would detract from the simple circles.  (PS: I use north americian crochet terms, not UK)

blog2011.03.22 photo001I sent off a beautiful piece for CHEP Good Food Inc.‘s annual fundraising gala, Think Global Eat Local.  I hope that it finds a loving home, and that it brings some cash for CHEP’s good work. I wish I could have made it this year, but I will be there next year for sure.

Edit: The Executuve Director had this to say about the piece – “It is the most beautiful creation I have seen ever.”

I was very inspired and enjoyed making that piece.  I have lots of ideas I will be executing soon, so keep an eye out for that.  *sigh*

blog2011.03.22 photo002As for the farm, we’re waiting for spring.  We just got a centimeter or so of snow last night, and a few flakes are still falling. :/  The birds are so hungry and enjoying the feeders.  This must be the leanest time of the year for them.  We saw a Sharptailed Grouse on Sunday.  It was quite big.  I’m looking forward to seeing what other animals we’ll be seeing as the season changes.  The downy woodpecker, chickadees, squirrels, blue jays, nuthatches, and some unidentified brown birds are regular visitors to our dining room window scene.  We hear the coyotes often and I’ve seen evidence of deer and rabbits.

Once the snow melts, rubber boots and shovels will be coming out.  🙂 We’ll be moving trees, figuring out the dimensions of the garden, and cleaning up the junk left by the previous owner. It’ll be so great to be outside in the sunshine.

*I’ll throw up a photo of the circle poncho soon!*

*hugs*

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

