It’s an invasion!


**Thrifty Thursday didn’t happen this week due to stress, migraine, and computer troubles of various kinds, sorry!**

 

I have a problem. And lately I’ve been doing better with it. My son has severe ADHD, and other acronym issues, which I have been constantly living and learning with. It’s not easy. And it’s probably genetic. *ding ding ding* Which is probably one of the main reasons I am invaded. By UFO’s that is. UnFinished Objects. Now in regular life, unfinished objects range from dishes (half left to soak) to the bed not being made to the piles of things not put away. It’s quite troublesome, and it wasn’t the way I wanted to live.  So for a few years now I’ve been working on changing my habits, and creating new ones that make my life more pleasent.  I’ve gone the FLYlady route, and some of it has worked a bit for me.  And I’ve been writing TO DO lists and setting a timer and doing household tasks 10-15 minutes at a time.  I find if I move around alot and do parts of a task at a time, I’m farther ahead than if I just do one task until it’s “done” – cuz that rarely happens anyways.

But on to the real reason I’m posting about my probable ADHD issues.

blog2011.03.11 photo001

this is most of my crochet ufo's and wip's.

You see? O.M.-to-the-G.

 

Blue Zig-Zag Afghan: for Jake; started about 3-4 years ago

Red Stole/Shawl: for me; started in June 2010

Green & Black Scarf: for ?; started in early 2010

Circle Poncho: for me; thrifted circles, I’ve edged them in gray and stitch together – started in 2008

Flower Poncho: for Rhiannon; started in 2007 or 2008

Leaf Shawl/Poncho: for me; started in November 2010

Blue Slippers: for Thriftygirl; started in November 2010

 

gah! I’m mainly posting this for the embarrassing kick-in-the-butt that I obviously need. 😉

blog2011.03.11 photo002

A small sampling of my beading ufo's

I’ve got a lot of beading that is not getting done.  Mainly because there is so much that I want to do that I start something, then start something else and so on without getting them actually done.  Changing how I view my projects will be helpful. Viewing it as a job, rather then a hobby, will make me less casual about leaving projects undone.  I’ve uploaded some close-ups on to Flickr if you want to look more closely. 🙂

blog2011.03.11 photo003

elements of a necklace I made on Wednesday

This is the start of a necklace I started (and completed) on Wednesday for CHEP Good Food Inc.‘s Think Global Eat Local Dinner Gala that’s happening on March 25th.  I used to work for CHEP as an Administrative Assistant, assisted the ED in planning events, and did the Christmas Card Project. I really loved my job, but since I had bought a farm – I had to leave.  I organized the Silent Auction for the gala’s in 2008,09, and 10, so of course I wanted to donate a piece and hopefully guests will bid generously and help CHEP out.  Once I decide whether or not I’m going to add earrings I’ll be sure to post a photo or two to show it off.

Speaking of work, I’ve also been asked to organize the Annual Christopher Lake Art & Craft Show and Sale.  I’m excited to be doing this event, and I believe it’s just the start of another facet of my self-employment. I really like this type of work, and I really like organizing and running Silent Auctions.  I’ll be posting more information on Facebook as I create it.  I’m not sure if I will talk about this facet on my blog, but if I do it’ll be on another “page” – like my “Behind the Needle and Hook”.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in I make stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s an invasion!

  1. molly says:

    i think that most people who are very creative tend to start more projects than they finish – that’s just the nature of the beast! the brain comes up with more ideas than the body (and real life!) can manage!
    that’s my story – i’m sticking to it…
    cheers!
    molly

    Like

  2. TanitIsis says:

    This is exactly why I don’t knit or crochet! 😉 I’ve also been pretty strict with myself about my sewing this year. I rarely let myself start something new until I finish my previous item… It helps that a lot of things can be finished in a few hours 🙂

    As to the kids, well, you have my sympathy… The many joys of acronym land…

    Like

    • I’m getting better, sortof, at finishing my projects. heh, trying to get all the ufo’s done though. We’ve moved out of Acronym Land. He’s been diagnosed with Autism, which I’ve suspected for years but haven’t been able to get a professional to take seriously until this year. We’re doing better, and surprisingly Autism is easier to handle than adhd, odd, and bipolar.

      Like

  3. Toyib says:

    This is exactly why I don’t knit or cocehrt! I’ve also been pretty strict with myself about my sewing this year. I rarely let myself start something new until I finish my previous item It helps that a lot of things can be finished in a few hours As to the kids, well, you have my sympathy The many joys of acronym land

    Like

Leave a Reply

